I’m very happy because I’ve received a greeting card via email from a new friend, thought it’s not my birthday, my saint’s day or anything like that
Look what a nice card I’ve received:

Besides, it has been sent from 123greetings, which is a legal website to download and send cards, so it must be trustworthy.
I’ve clicked the picture of the message and I’ve been redirected to the website http://luxxxx.googlegroups.com/web/setup.zip, but I can’t see any greeting card here, but a Google groups website containing a link… maybe I have to follow the link in order to view it…
There’s no way. I can only see the Windows of an antivirus called DesktopSecurity2010 informing me that my computer is infected and that I have to pay the license in order to eliminate the malware. I think that I got infected
and I have neither a greeting card nor a new friend…
Now, talking seriously, yesterday we commented how this false antivirus was using Google Groups users (with malicious intentions) to be distributed. In fact, the URL from which the rogueware is downloaded is like the following:
http://Google Groups user.googlegroups.com/web/setup.zip
Some of these users are felixss, gorlum or misterxyz.
Google has reacted to this and has started blocking these malicious users. So, if you try to access any URL that uses these malicious users, the following message is displayed informing you that the user cannot be found:

Even so, some malicious accounts may still be active, so don’t trust messages like this and don’t follow any link like those we’ve previously mentioned in this post.
